Offloading Molly fry?

Forums Trading Post For Sale Aquarium Items – Local Offloading Molly fry?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Sunny
    Participant

Hi everyone! I’m fairly new to fish-keeping, and found this club on Facebook, but I’m not sure if my who would be allowed there. I’m thinking I’d like a few Mollies for my 29 gallon, but obviously they’re going to produce a lot of fry. I have skirt tetras in the tank that should help keep population down, but I can’t figure out what people do with the inevitable extra mollies? I looked for threads on here selling them to see if that’s something people do, and didn’t find many, but so many get sold at pet stores that surely there’s some solution people have found to extra fish. Do Petco or pet smart take fry? A local fish store? Is the swap meet a good place to rehome any?

Thank you for letting me know- I want to have a plan before I start bringing baby fry into the world, and I appreciate feedback if getting mollies are a terrible idea, as well.

CoolfinsAquatics
    Participant

Are there a lot if free tank space

Sunny
    Participant

Not too much- it’s a 29 gallon, currently stocked with 6 zebra danios, 7 skirt tetras, and a bristlenose pleco.

Phil
    Participant

If you don’t want the fish to breed then limit the tank to a single sex.